Faculty Internationalization Award

The Georgia Consortium for International Studies (GCIS) seeks to recognize and reward faculty members who have made significant contributions to internationalization at their university or elsewhere. The GCIS will seek to recognize two faculty members each year. One award will be given to a junior faculty member (those who have no more than seven years of full time teaching experience with at least three years of service at a GCIS member institution). The second award will be given to a senior faculty member (those who have more than seven years of full time teaching experience with at least five years of service at a GCIS member institution). As part of the award, each winner will receive a cash prize of $500.

  1. Nominees must be full-time teaching faculty members at a member institution of the GCIS (see below).
  2. Member institutions may nominate only one faculty member for each of the two awards.
  3. The GCIS Faculty Internationalization Award is not intended to reward or recognize international research or scholarship already recognized by discipline and area studies organizations.
Judging Criteria:
Nominees will be evaluated based on their contribution to internationalization which may include any or all of the following:
  1. teaching, directing or developing study abroad programs
  2. developing or expanding international academic programs
  3. internationalization of existing curricula
  4. promoting greater international understanding and knowledge through lectures, programs or other activities on campus or in the community
  5. supporting or participating in faculty development and/or exchange within the scope of international studies or internationalization of existing programming
  6. contributing to international education activities on the campus
  7. developing or supporting the international students and scholars
Application Process:
  1. A call for applications for junior and senior GCIS Internationalization Awards will be sent to all participating institutions by October 15th of each year.
  2. Nominees must submit to their GCIS representative (see below) a signed application form and current CV by November 1st of each year.
  3. Nominees must arrange for support letters from their department chair or dean to be delivered to the GCIS representative by November 15th of each year.
  4. After the GCIS member institution has selected its junior and senior faculty member, the GCIS representative or Director of International Education must include a letter of support for the nominee.
  5. Three copies of the complete packet must be received to the address below by December 1st of each year. GCIS campus representatives must submit their campus applicant's application materials electronically (as PDFs) to:
Dr. H. J. Abdelnur
Department of History, Anthropology & Philosophy
Augusta State University
2500 Walton Way
Augusta, GA. 30904
Attn: GCIS Faculty Internationalization Award

Duties of Awardee:
GCIS Award recipients are required to attend and give a presentation at the GCIS Symposium on International Education at TBA, on a date TBA, 2012. The GCIS will cover mileage, an overnight stay and symposium registration as part of the awards. Recipients will also be recognized in a ceremony at their home institution with special GCIS certificate of award. Awardees must participate in the GCIS Symposium and attend the award ceremony in order to receive the cash prize.
Campus Representatives to the Georgia Consortium for International Studies:
1. Albany State University: Patricia Ryan-Ikegwuonu
2. Armstrong Atlantic State University: Dr. Ned Rinalducci
3. Augusta State University: Dr. Heather J. Abdelnur
4. Bainbridge College: Dr. Tracy Harrington
5. Clayton State University: Dr. John Parkerson
6. Coastal Georgia Community College: Ms. Patrizia Stahle
7. Columbus State University: Dr. Neal McCrillis
8. Dalton State College: Dr. Baogang Guo
9. Darton College: Mr. Ulf Kirchdorfer
10. Gainesville State College: Dr. Chaudron Gille
11. Georgia College & State University: Dr. Dwight Call
12. Georgia Perimeter College: Mr. Liam Madden
13. Georgia Southern University: Dr. Nancy Shumaker
14. Georgia Southwestern State University: Dr. Philip Szmedra
15. Kennesaw State University: Dr. M. Todd Harper
16. Macon State College: Dr. David Biek
17. North Georgia College & State University: Dr. Tamara Spike
18. Savannah State University: Dr. Cornelius St. Mark
19. State University of West Georgia: Dr. William Schaniel
20. Valdosta State University: Dr. Charles Johnson
21. Young Harris College: Dr. Diana Santiago